On October 28, 1977.


On October 28, 1977, “EMI” label released “News of the World”, the sixth Queen studio album. It was recorded July – September 1977, at “Sarm West” and “Wessex Studios” in London, and was produced by Freddie Mercury, Brian May, Roger Taylor, John Deacon, and co-produced by Mike Stone. The album featured tracks “We Will Rock You”, “We Are the Champions” and “Spread Your Wings”, and sold in more than 10 million copies worldwide. The album’s cover was a painting by American sci-fi artist Frank Kelly Freas.


  • Freddie Mercury: lead and backing vocals, piano, cowbell
  • Brian May: electricand acoustic guitars, backing vocals, lead vocals, maracas
  • Roger Taylor: drums, percussion, lead and backing vocals, rhythm guitar, bass guitar
  • John Deacon: bass guitars, Spanish guitar

Track listing:

  1. We Will Rock You – Brian May
  2. We Are the Champions – Freddie Mercury
  3. Sheer Heart Attack – Roger Taylor
  4. All Dead, All Dead – Brian May
  5. Spread Your Wings – John Deacon
  6. Fight from the Inside – Roger Taylor
  7. Get Down, Make Love – Freddie Mercury
  8. Sleeping the Sidewalk – Brian May
  9. Who Needs You – John Deacon
  10. It’s Late – Brian May
  11. My Melancholy Blues – Freddie Mercury

2 thoughts on “On October 28, 1977.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.