On October 19, 1999.


On October 19, 1999, “HellCat” and “Mercury” labels released “Rock Art and the X-Ray Style”, the debut Joe Strummer and the Mescaleros album. “Rock Art and the X-Ray Style” was recorded in 1999 and was produced by Antony Genn and Richard Norris.


  • Joe Strummer – lead vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, mixing
  • Dave Stewart- acoustic guitar
  • J. Cole- pedal steel
  • Antony Genn – synthesizer, guitar, piano, bass, strings, beats, backing vocals
  • Richard Norris – keyboards, E-Bow, drum programming
  • Martin Slattery – Hammond organ, Wurlitzer, melodica, saxophone
  • Scott Shields- acoustic and electric guitars, bass, backing vocals
  • Pablo Cook – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Steve Barnard- drums
  • Ged Lynch – drums
  • Gary Dyson – backing vocals, chant
  • J. Pete B. – scratching
  • Richard Flack – programming, engineer, mixing

Track listing:

All lyrics by Joe Strummer, music as noted.

  1. Tony Adams – Joe Strummer, Antony Gemm
  2. Sandpaper Blues – Joe Strummer, Gary Dyson, Richard Norris
  3. X-Ray Style – Joe Strummer
  4. Techno D-Day – Joe Strummer, Antony Genn
  5. The Road to Rock’n’Roll – Joe Strummer, Antony Genn
  6. Nitcomb – Joe Strummer, Antony Genn
  7. Digging the New – Joe Strummer, Richard Norris
  8. Forbidden City – Joe Strummer
  9. Yalla, Yalla – Joe Strummer, Pablo Cook, Richard Norris
  10. Willesden to Cricklewood – Joe Strummer, Antony Genn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.