On October 15, 1984.


On October 15, 1984, “Virgin Records” released “The Big Express”, the seventh XTC studio album. It was recorded in 1984, at the “Crescent Studios”, in Bath, UK, and was produced by David Lord, Andy Partridge, Colin Moulding, and Peter Phipps.


  • Andy Partridge- vocals, guitar, Linn LM-1
  • Colin Moulding- vocals, bass
  • Dave Gregory- guitar, keyboard, piano
  • Peter Phipps- drums, percussion
  • Stuart Gordon -violin, viola
  • Annie Huchrak – female choir voice
  • Steve Saunders -euphonium

Track listing:

All compositions by Andy Partridge, except where noted.

  1. Wake Up – Colin Molding
  2. All You Pretty Girls
  3. Shake You Donkey Up
  4. Seagulls Screaming Kiss Her, Kiss Her
  5. This World Over
  6. The Everyday Story of Smalltown
  7. I Bought Myself a Liarbird
  8. Reign of Blows
  9. You’re the Wish You Are I Had
  10. I Remember the Sun
  11. Train Running Low on Soul Coal

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.