Tag Archives: Tin Drum

On November 13, 1981.


On November 13, 1981, “Virgin” label released “Tin Drum”, the fifth and final Japan studio album. It was recorded in 1981, and was produced by Steve Nye and Japan.


  • David Sylvian– vocals, guitar, keyboard, keyboard programming, tapes, cover concept
  • Mick Karn– fretless bass guitar, African flute, dida
  • Steve Jansen– acoustic drums, electronic drums, keyboard percussion
  • Richard Barbieri– keyboard, keyboard programming, tapes
  • Yuka Fujii – backing vocals
  • Simon House– violin
  • Steve Joule – design
  • Steve Nye– engineer
  • Phil Bodger – assistant engineer
  • Fin Costello – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by David Sylvian, except where noted.

  1. The Art of Parties
  2. Talking Drum
  3. Ghosts
  4. Canton – Steve Jansen, David Sylvian
  5. Still Life in Mobile Homes
  6. Visions of China – Steve Jansen, David Sylvian
  7. Sons of Pioneers – Mick Karn, David Sylvian
  8. Cantonese Boy