On December 12, 1975.

On December 12, 1975, “Sounds Workshop” label released “Expensive Shit”, the twelfth Fela Kuti album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Arc Studio”, and was produced by Fela Kuti. Magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked “Expensive Shit” at number 402 on its list of the “500 Best Albums of All Time”.


  • Fela Kuti – vocals, alto and tenor saxophone, piano, arrangement
  • Ogene Kologbo – tenor guitar
  • Leke Benson – rhythm guitar
  • Franco Aboddy – bass guitar
  • Tony Allen – lead drums
  • Henry Kofi – lead congas
  • Nicholas Addo – additional congas
  • Issac Olaleye – maracas
  • James Abayomi – sticks
  • Christopher Uwaifor – tenor saxophone
  • Lekan Animashaun – baritone saxophone
  • Tunde Williams – trumpet, solo
  • Ukem Stephen – 2nd trumpet
  • Demola Odebiyi – engineer
  • Roland Francis – executive producer
  • Remi Olowookere – artwork, graphics
  • Peter Obe Photo Agency – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Fela Kuti.

  1. Expensive Shit
  2. Water No Get Enemy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.