On August 21, 2000.

On August 21, 2000, “ECM” label released “The Water Is Wide”, the 31st Charles Lloyd album. It was recorded December 1999, at “Cello Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Charles Lloyd– tenor saxophone
  • John Abercrombie– guitar
  • Brad Mehldau– piano
  • Larry Grenadier– bass
  • Billy Higgins– drums
  • Darek Oles– bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Charles Lloyd except where noted.

  1. Georgia – Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell
  2. The Water Is Wide – traditional
  3. Black Butterfly – Duke Ellington, Irving Mills
  4. Ballade and Allegro
  5. Figure in Blue
  6. Lotus Blossom – Billy Strayhorn
  7. The Monk and the Mermaid
  8. Song of Her – Cecil McBee
  9. Lady Day
  10. Heaven – Duke Ellington
  11. There Is a Balm in Gilead – traditional
  12. Prayer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.