On November 21, 2000.

On November 21, 2000, “Mint Records” label released “Mass Romantic”, the debut  New Pornographers album. It was recorded 1999 – 2000, and was produced by John Collins and David Carswell.


  • Dan Bejar– vocals, guitar, korg synthesizer, pipe organ, wurlitzer
  • Neko Case– vocals
  • John Collins– bass, engineer
  • Kurt Dahle– drums, vocals
  • Carl Newman– vocals, korg synthesizer, pipe organ, wurlitzer
  • Fisher Rose– drums
  • Blaine Thurier– keyboards
  • Shannon Oksanen, Bill Anderson – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Carl Newman, except where noted.

  1. Mass Romantic – Neko Case, Carl Newman
  2. The Fake Headlines
  3. The Slow Descent into Alcoholism
  4. Mystery Hours
  5. Jackie – Daniel Bejar, Neko Case
  6. Letter from an Occupant – Neko Case
  7. To Wild Homes – Daniel Bejar, Neko Case, Carl Newman
  8. The Body Says No
  9. Execution Day – Daniel Bejar, Carl Newman
  10. Centre for Holy Wars
  11. The Mary MartinShow
  12. Breakin’ the Law – Daniel Bejar, Carl Newman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.