On November 17,2017.

On November 17, 2017, “Anti Records” label released “If All I Was Was Black”, the sixteenth Mavis Staples studio album. It was recorded in 2017, and was produced by Jeff Tweedy.


  • Mavis Staples – vocals
  • Jeff Tweedy – vocals, guitar, bass, percussion
  • Spencer Tweedy – drums, percussion
  • Rick Holmstrom– guitar
  • Jeff Turnes – bass
  • Stephen Hodges- drums, percussion
  • Donny Gerrard, Kelly Hogan, Akenya – backing vocals
  • Glenn Kotche– percussion
  • Scott Ligon – clavinet, piano, organ, Wurly, guitar

Track listing:

  1. Little Bit – Jeff Tweedy
  2. If All I Was Was Black – Jeff Tweedy, Mavis Staple
  3. Who Told You That – Jeff Tweedy
  4. Ain’t No Doubt About It – Jeff Tweedy
  5. Peaceful Dream – Jeff Tweedy
  6. No Time for Crying – Jeff Tweedy, Mavis Staple
  7. Build a Bridge – Jeff Tweedy
  8. We go High – Jeff Tweedy, Mavis Staple
  9. Try Harder – Jeff tweedy
  10. All Over Again – Jeff Tweedy

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.