On August 25, 1998.

On August 25, 1998, “DreamWorks” label released “XO”, the fourth Elliott Smith studio album. It was recorded 1997 – 1998, at “Sunset Sound Recorders”, “The Sound Factory”, “Ocean Way Recording” and “Sonora Studio” in Los Angeles, “Jackpot! Recording Studio” in Portland, Oregon, and was produced by Elliott Smith, Rob Schnapf and Tom Rothrock.


  • Elliott Smith– vocals, guitar, piano, bass guitar, drums, organ, mandolin, electric piano, melodica, percussion, string and horn arrangements,  recording
  • Rob Schnapf– guitar, recording
  • Paul Pulvirenti – drums
  • Tom Rothrock– drum programming, recording
  • Joey Waronker– drums
  • Jon Brion– vibraphone, Chamberlin
  • Shelly Berg, Tom Halm – string and horn arrangements
  • Bruce Eskovitz – bass saxophone, baritone saxophone, flute
  • James Atkinson – French horn
  • Roy Poper – trumpet
  • Farhad Behroozi, Henry Ferber, Jerrod Goodman, Pamela DeAlmeida, Peter Hatch, Raymond Tischer II, Russel Cantor, Waldemar DeAlmeida – strings
  • Larry Crane – recording
  • Alex Sanderson, Doug Boehm, Richard Barron – engineering assistance
  • Stephen Marcussen – mastering
  • Johnson and Wolverton – sleeve artwork
  • Eric Matthies – sleeve photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Elliott Smith.

  1. Sweet Adeline
  2. Tomorrow, Tomorrow
  3. Waltz #2 (XO)
  4. Baby Britain
  5. Pitseleh
  6. Independence Day
  7. Bled White
  8. Waltz #1
  9. Amity
  10. Oh Well, Okay
  11. Bottle Up and Explode!
  12. A Question Mark
  13. Everybody Cares, Everybody Understands
  14. I Didn’t Understand

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.