In February 1963.

In February 1963, “Impulse!” label released “Duke Ellington & John Coltrane”, album by Duke Ellington and John Coltrane. It was recorded on September 26, 1962, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • Duke Ellington- piano
  • John Coltrane- tenor and soprano saxophone
  • Jimmy Garrison, Aaron Bell- bass
  • Elvin Jones, Sam Woodyard– drums

Track listing:

  1. In a Sentimental Mood – Irving Mills, Duke Ellington, Manny Kurtz
  2. Take the Coltrane – Duke Ellington
  3. Big Nick – John Coltrane
  4. Stevie – Duke Ellington
  5. My Little Brown Book – Billy Strayhorn
  6. Angelica – Duke Ellington
  7. The Feeling of Jazz – Duke Ellington, Bobby Troup, George T. Simon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.