In February 1963.

In February 1963, “Riverside” label released “Caravan”, album by Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers. It was recorded October 23-24, 1962, at “Plaza Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Art Blakey- drums
  • Freddie Hubbard- trumpet
  • Curtis Fuller- trombone
  • Wayne Shorter- tenor saxophone
  • Cedar Walton- piano
  • Reggie Workman- bass

Track listing:

  1. Caravan – Juan Tizol
  2. Sweet ‘n’ Sour – Wayne Shorter
  3. In the Wee Small Hours of the Morning – Mann, Hilliard
  4. This Is for Albert – Wayne Shorter
  5. Skylark – Carmichael, Mercer
  6. Thermo – Freddie Hubbard

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.