In June 1971.

In June 1971, “Warner Bros” label released “It Ain’t Easy”, the sixth Long John Baldry album. It was recorded December 1970 – February 1971, and was produced by Rod Stewart and Elton John.


  • Long John Baldry – vocals, 12-string guitar
  • Maggie Bell- vocals
  • Elton John- organ, piano
  • Ron Wood- guitar
  • Alan Skidmore- tenor saxophone
  • Lesley Duncan- background vocals
  • Tony Hazzard- background vocals
  • Sam Mitchell – dobro, guitar, slide guitar
  • Doris Troy- background vocals
  • Ian Armit – piano
  • Tony Burrows- background vocals
  • Kay Garner – background vocals
  • Ricky Brown – bass
  • Dave Glover – bass
  • Roger Pope – drums
  • Caleb Quaye- organ, guitar
  • Ray Jackson- mandolin
  • Joshua M’Bopo – guitar
  • Liza Strike – background vocals

Track listing:

  1. Intro: Conditional Discharge – Long John Baldry, Ian Armitt
  2. Don’t Try to Lay No Boogie-Woogie on the King of Rock and Roll – Jeff Thomas
  3. Black Girl – traditional, Lead Belly
  4. It Ain’t Easy – Ron Davies
  5. Morning, Morning -Tuli Kupferberg
  6. I’m Ready – Willie Dixon
  7. Let’s Burn Down the Cornfield – Randy Newman
  8. Rubin – Lesley Duncan
  9. Rock Me When He’s Gone – Elton John, Bernie Taupin
  10. Flying – Ronnie Wood, Rod Stewart, Ronnie Lane

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.