On June 12, 1999.

On June 12, 1999, “Smekkleysa/Bad Taste” label released “Ágætis byrjun” (A Good Beginning), the second Sigur Rós album. It was recorded August 1998–April 1999, and was produced by Ken Thomas. The sketch on the cover was drawn by Gotti Bernhöft. Sigur Rós won an “Iceland Music Award and the 2001 “Shortlist Music Prize” for the album. In 2009, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 29 on its list of the “Best albums of 2000s”. In the “Q” and “Mojo” “Classic Special Edition Pink Floyd & The Story of Prog Rock”, “Ágætis byrjun” was ranked at number 27 in the list of “40 Cosmic Rock Albums”.


  • Jón Þór Birgisson– vocals, guitar
  • Kjartan Sveinsson– keyboard
  • Georg Hólm– bass
  • Ágúst Ævar Gunnarsson– drums

Track listing:

  1. Intro
  2. Svefn-g-englar
  3. Starálfur
  4. Flugufrelsarinn
  5. Ný batterí
  6. Hjartað hamast (bamm bamm bamm)
  7. Viðrar vel til loftárása
  8. Olsen Olsen
  9. Ágætis byrjun
  10. Avalon



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.