On May 22, 1980.

On May 22, 1980, “Motown” label released “Diana”, the tenth Diana Ross album. It was recorded December 1979-March 1980, at “Power Station”, and “Electric Lady” in New York City, “Motown/Hitsville U.S.A. Studios” in Hollywood and was produced by Bernard Edwards and Nile Rodgers. The album was certified Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • Diana Ross –lead vocals
  • Nile Rodgers– guitar
  • Andy Barrett (Schwartz) –piano
  • Raymond Jones – keyboards
  • Bernard Edwards– bass guitar
  • Tony Thompson– drums
  • Eddie Daniels –saxophone
  • Meco Monardo– trombone
  • Bob Milliken –trumpet
  • Valerie Haywood (The Chic Strings) –strings
  • Cheryl Hong (The Chic Strings) – strings
  • Karen Milne (The Chic Strings) – strings
  • Gene Orloff– conductor
  • Alfa Anderson –backing vocals
  • Fonzi Thornton– backing vocals
  • Luci Martin – backing vocals
  • Michelle Cobbs – backing vocals
  • Bob Clearmountain– engineer
  • Bill Scheniman – engineer
  • James Farber – engineer
  • Neil Dorfsman– engineer
  • Ralph Osborn – engineer
  • Abdoulaye Soumare – engineer assistant
  • Jeff Hendrickson – engineer assistant
  • Lucy Laurie – engineer assistant
  • Peter Robbins – engineer assistant
  • Dennis King –mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Bernard Edwards and Nile Rodgers.

  1. Upside Down
  2. Tenderness
  3. Friend to Friend
  4. I’m Coming Out
  5. Have Fun (Again)
  6. My Old Piano
  7. Now That You’re Gone
  8. Give Up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.