On January 24, 1972.


On January 24, 1972, “Columbia” label released the second self titled studio album by Paul Simon. It was recorded January – March 1971, and was produced by Roy Halee and Paul Simon. The album was ranked at number 268 on the “Rolling Stone” magazine list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. “Stereo Review” critics gave the album one of its “Record Of The Year” awards.


  • Paul Simon:acoustic guitar, vocals, percussion
  • Hal Blaine:drums
  • Huks Brown:lead guitar
  • Ron Carter:bass
  • Russel George: bass
  • Stéphane Grappelli:violin
  • Winston Grennan: drums
  • Stefan Grossman:bottleneck guitar
  • Jerry Hahn:electric guitar
  • Neville Hinds:organ
  • Jackie Jackson: bass
  • Larry Knechtel:piano, electric piano, harmonium, organ
  • Denzil Laing: percussion
  • Fred Lipsius:horns
  • Los Incas:flute, charango, percussion
  • Mike Mainieri:vibes
  • Charlie McCoy:bass harmonica
  • Victor Montanez: drums
  • Airto Moreira: percussion
  • Joe Osborn: bass
  • John Schroer: horns
  • David Spinozza: acoustic guitar
  • Steven Turre: horns
  • Wallace Wilson:rhythm guitar
  • Cissy Houston, Von Eva Sims, Renelle Stafford, Deirdre Tuck: backing vocals

Track lsiting:

All tracks by Paul Simon, except “Hobo’s Blues” co-written by Stéphane Grappelli.

  1. Mother and Child Reunion
  2. Duncan
  3. Everything Put Together Falls Apart
  4. Run That Body Down
  5. Armistice Day
  6. Me and Julio Down by the Schoolyard
  7. Peace Like a River
  8. Papa Hobo
  9. Hobo’s Blues
  10. Paranoia Blues
  11. Congratulations



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.